International Mathematical Olympiad Mirzakhani Award

Awards for outstanding performances by girls were inaugurated at IMO 2017 in Rio de Janeiro. The first awards were named after the Brazilian Olympic Girls Movement from UFSM (Universidade Federal de Santa Maria, Federal University of Santa Maria) and IMPA (Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada, National Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics) in Brazil.

The Fields medal winner Maryam Mirzakhani died on July 14 during IMO 2017, and it seemed natural that future awards would be named in her memory. During the years 2017–2020 inclusive, the awards were made by the host organization without reference to IMO Regulations. It is possible that at some point, IMO will adopt these awards into General Regulations, and retrospectively adopt the early editions of the awards.

IMO 2017 (Brazil): Olympic Girls’ IMPA Awards

These awards were renamed for subsequent IMOs to honour the memory of Maryam Mirzakhani.

IMO 2018 (Romania)

IMO 2019 (United Kingdom)

IMO 2020 (Russian Federation)

IMO 2021 (Russian Federation)

IMO 2022 (Norway)

IMO 2023 (Japan)

Return to IMO Register home page

Contact: Joseph Myers (
Last updated: 19 July 2023